It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime can be attributed to violence in the media. Do you agree that this is the main cause of juvenile crime? What solutions can you offer to deal with this situation

Many believe that extreme violence depicted in action movies today is responsible for increased crime rates in young adults. Although some people are of the opinion that such is not the case, I believe that this is mainly a consequence of the violence shown in movies. This essay also highlights parental supervision as a solution to curb this issue. The main reason behind this is too much action depicted in the media. Because they have online access to media, they are exposed to a variety of videos and games that are violent and can influence their impressionable minds. Not only that but they also convince them that imitating the violence would make them a hero, as depicted in the movies. This ultimately leads them to indulge in dangerous crimes that could possibly land them in trouble with the law. For example, a survey conducted by the Juvenile Crime Department revealed that 40% of the children were motivated by the violence depicted in movies and games they played. A significant solution to this problem would be parents supervising and limiting their children from watching violent content, whether it is movies or games. They should explain and educate them about the consequences of indulging in aggressive acts. They should be made aware of the fact that not only are these movies fictitious but they are also not a good influence on their psychology. It has been observed that youngsters who are educated about the negative influence of action movies are twice as likely to not indulge in violence or criminal behaviour. To conclude, I believe that violence depicted in movies can be held responsible for increased juvenile crime rates and a possible solution to this problem would be parents supervising the movies children watch and educating them about the consequences of indulging in violence.