Scientists predict in the near future cars will be driven by computers, not people. Why? Do you think this is positive development and negative development?

There is no doubt that the level of computer usage in vehicles has increased dramatically including assisting driving. Because of this, many scientists believe that computers ultimately replace human drivers in the future. This essay will explore what is the reason behind this prediction and details why I think this is a favorable development even though it does present some disadvantages. One of the main factors why there will be more driverless cars is advancements in artificial intelligence (AI) software and its availability. These programs can operate activities which they are designed to do without any human intervention. Tesla company, for example, already have their own in-house developed automated car production line with AI technology and they continue to conduct new research on their AI system, so they can product high quality automated cars at a larger scale. Also, Google and Apple have announced their new projects on computer-controlled vehicles. If this kind of investments on developing such vehicles continue to grow, we might soon see a future with robot cars. This shifting of human drivers to robot drivers does present both positive and negative to the world. Starting with the positives, accidents rate will drastically reduce. This is because computer-controlled vehicles are developed to follow strict road rules and drive with care. For instance, whereas a person might drive through a green crossing light, a robot driver will definitely wait until it gets the red crossing light, thus reducing a chance of an accident. Another advantage of driverless cars is addressing the travelling needs of the elderly peoples who are physically unable to drive. Looking at a negative, this trend will destroy many driving jobs in the market. As computers control the car, there is no need a person to drive the vehicle. However, this problem can easily manage by the government if the money saved from the benefits utilized properly to compensate taxi drivers. In conclusion, new finding in AI technology is the main reason why there will be robot drivers in the future, and I think although this create a temporary unemployment for taxi drivers, there will be an overall positivity because of its benefits of less accidents and meeting elderly travelling needs.