In some countries, a high proportion of criminal acts are committed by teenagers. Why has this happened? What can be done to deal with this?

At present, money is of great importance and is a necessity for people to buy whatever they want, even luxury bags and clothes, sports cars, and jewelries; hence, money management ability is becoming more important. Concerns arise when many high school graduates fail to manage their money well. The main reason of this problem might be the lack of education on money management as they grow. To be more specific, the absence of financial education can be found both at home and school. In many households, it is common that parents focus mostly on academic achievements and moral cultivation of their children but neglect the significance of other qualities and abilities for the reason that a promising future can be guaranteed by good achievements and morality. Schools are the second place where children spend most of their time; however, there is no sight/trace of financial education for them to learn how to manage their money. Therefore, we cannot expect these children have their money managed overnight. How can this trend be changed and improved? First of all, children should be taught to keep a detailed record of their incomes and expenses every single month. This is a good way to help them understand prices in the market and the virtue of frugality, and then encourage them to re-think their purchase desire when they want to have unnecessary expenditure. Also, a personal money record can help them understand their financial status and develop their ability of planning ahead to avoid potential financial deficit, an ability they will need throughout their life. In addition, adults at home or schools can provide youngsters with more guidance and opportunities to manage money, virtually or in real life, in order that they can develop a healthy consuming habit and even some financial management skills. For example, parents can set up rules with regard to how much money children can get if they do certain kinds of housework and grant more freedom to them to spend their money earned. Once children understand the difficulty of making money, they would know it would be wise if they buy things after more consideration. At school, real-world simulation contests can be held to encourage students to manipulate their virtual currency to complete transactions or investments. In this way, they can learn more knowledge of the monetary society and improve their financial management ability.