Government is spending money on improving roads and highways. However, NGOs propose that the government should improve public transportation such as buses, trains and subways instead of concreting roads. Which do you prefer more?

One major allotment of government funds is for the modernization of roads and highways. Though arguably this will benefit the community as a whole, I support the idea recommended by non-government organizations that paying more attention in the improvement of public transportation is more preferable. First, investing in the improvement of public transportation will be a money generating revenue for the government. The authority can impose higher fares to compensate for the spending and generate an income which can be used to fund other projects or for the maintenance of the machineries. In addition, improving public transportation promotes lesser carbon footprint from the country because if citizens will be comfortable in using the improved buses or trains, they will reduce the use of their personal vehicles. This leads to less carbon emission and helps in making the nation to be ecological and environmental friendly. Furthermore, the use of improved public transportation such as buses, metro rail, and underground trains is convenient for the passengers. In first world countries like Singapore and New Zealand, they programmed an app which can locate the incoming trains or buses and their estimated time of arrival or if there is a delay, in this way the commuters will have a thought of how long it takes for them to arrive at their destination which assures efficiency for the travellers. In conclusion, the projects of the government to improve the roads and highways though recommended, I am of a view that improving public transportation is more preferable and beneficial to the community in general.