It is often argued that the emergence of electronic books has drastically affected the production of paper books.

It is often argued that the emergence of electronic books has drastically affected the production of paper books. On the other hand, there are people who strongly believe that paper books will never lose their importance. Although, e-books are easy to access from any corner of the world, I would always prefer reading paper books to avoid eyesight problems and some associated physical problems. In the current scenario, people are very keen to use the compact gadgets for almost everything in their daily routine. Advanced innovations have led to the inventions of pocket sized mobiles, palmtop computers and light weight Macbooks. Nowadays people need not worry about packing books during travel and there is no need to carry bulky printed books. Interestingly, almost all books are now available online and can be downloaded onto your device for free or for a small fee. Even so, printed books are here to stay because of some inherent advantages they possess. To start with, you don’t phone or tablet or an internet connection to read a hardcover book. While it is true that it does have some weight and occupy some space, it is never too heavy or too bulky to carry in your backpack. Another advantage that printed books have over ebooks is that anybody can read them at any time. You do not have to be tech savvy to read your ebook. This feature of printed books makes them particularly suitable for the elderly who may find it difficult to use an ebook reader. Yet another advantage of ebooks is that they do not cause eyestrain like ebooks. There is also the nostalgic feeling associated with smelling the paper or flipping the pages. To conclude, it is true that ebooks have many advantages and they are also becoming quite possible. However, none of the advantages that ebooks possess are good enough to make them obliterate printed books from the world.