Some people think that the government should be responsible for crime prevention, while others believe that it is the responsibility of the individual to protect themselves. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There are two different views among people regarding crime prevention. While some recognize the government as responsible for that, others believe that individuals should protect themselves. Taking one of these two contradictory opinions into account, can make remarkable changes in society. I try to take a deeper look in each view and give my opinion in what follows. On one hand, there are people who think the responsibility of government is inevitable in crime prevention. Therefore, if anyone tries to damage someone else or to endanger others’ rights, there should be rules to support those who are under threat. Considering this mindset, one is not allowed to react and should follow the necessary steps in order to defend their rights. This can be good if the government can engage quickly enough that people are not hurt, and their rights are protected. Otherwise, if the governmental systems are not efficient enough, there would be serious consequences. On the other hand, there are people who believe in self protection against criminals and do not consider government responsible for that. This can have advantages and disadvantages for society. However, the most important aspect of this opinion is that society will go in a direction to become chaotic. Although having the right to defend ourselves can be beneficial, the chaos of not knowing government responsible for that outweighs those benefits. All in all, I feel that I share the same values with those who has the prior opinion. This is mostly because of the fact that it brings discipline into society. If we imagine a society in which individuals are responsible for their self-protection, we can easily understand that those who are weaker, would be definite victims of such system.