Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Many countries pride themselves on hosting international sports events. Nonetheless, people are divided into two camps when it comes to such events, one advocates for their presence while the other side opposes these events. Those who are against countries hosting such events often argue that the large amounts of funds allocated towards hosting an event of this scale are better utilized somewhere else like infrastructure renovations or housing projects for the poor. Not only that but they also argue that money spent on these events is a bad investment. What they fail to realize is that most of the money spent in these events is on infrastructure. Furthermore, the magnitude of tourists flying in during these events is tremendous. These tourists on average, according to one study, inject between five and ten thousand dollars into the local economy. When multiplied by 100, 000, a conservative figure of how many people flew into Brazil during the olympics held in Rio, that amounts to a total between 500 million and one billion dollars, far surpassing the measly 300 million spent by the government which is a great investment. I see these events as a huge opportunity to showcase the country's traditions, local products, culture and cuisine, which opposers fail to take into account. The hosting country is catapulted into the spotlight. This golden opportunity can be used to garner more tourism and foreign investment in the future. In conclusion, every aspect of the hosting country's economy grows significantly. Not only that, but also the whole world is introduced to the culture of said country and therefore the advantages of hosting an international sports event far outweigh the disadvantages.