Public libraries will soon no longer be housed in a building as al facilities and books will be available online for all to access. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of public libraries only existing online.

It is evident that the explosion of Science and Information technology has revolutionized every aspect of this world. Apparently, it has made it very easy to access any information within seconds. Due to this fact, it is predicted that public libraries will be easily available in houses because of effective online access. Although, it will bring productivity benefits, but overlooking its demerits also seems irrelevant. It is generally observed that a huge book collection for the public is being provided online by which not only time, but also money can be saved, whereas existing public book centres are considered as time and money consuming. For example, because of having hectic schedules, one can easily either read or download the books in which one has an interest without putting more efforts. Besides this, nowadays, a lot of advanced and international books are being published which are quick to be picked up only by online assistance. So, this facility offers readers to explore their knowledge on a large level, which takes longer time in case of traditional information centres. In regard to its darker side, it will not be possible for every place, especially the areas where internet services are still not launched. In these situations only traditional information centres can play a significant role as compared to online public book centres. Additionally, this approach demands skills to operate a computer and access internet in convenient ways which is not a cup of tea for every person. In that case, readers have to depend on writing book collections. It is not an exaggeration to say that the actual taste can be felt by reading written material as it is considered as a hobby by many book lovers. So, if only online public libraries will be provided then to some extent, people will be deprived from the reading motive. In conclusion, although, due to advancement, public libraries will be shifted to online facilities, but it will not be on a whole because the significance of existing public library facility cannot be put aside.