It is often argued that it is difficult to get children to read. Why do you think this is? What measures could be taken to encourage children to read more?

Reading habits are essential for developing knowledge. Many parents and teachers are struggling to make a child adopt reading. In this essay further the reasons behind this behaviour of children followed by viable solutions to overcome the problem will be discussed. Two major hindrances that cause the young children to refrain from reading. One factor is that they are forced to do so. In other words, because elders are constantly pushing students to read, they are becoming reluctant. In the USA, for instance, 70% of students do not read books as they were forced during their childhood. Another reason could be that they are not aware of their own choices. If someone is fond of science and fiction, he is more likely to enjoy only such books, but without understanding likes and dislikes, one can never appreciate a book if it is not suiting his interest. Even though the situation is grim, adults can take measures to guide students in the right way. Firstly, children should be allowed to take up hobbies whenever they want to. In Finland, for example, children read more books than their counterparts across the world as they adopt reading habits on their own. Secondly, a child should be exposed to different experiences to realize their interests. They must be provided with multiple books and should be asked to reflect on their feelings. In this process, they will understand what makes them happy or sad. In conclusion, although parents and teachers want their young ones to take up good habits, children should not be forced, this will only make them reluctant. Therefore, one ought to allow time and space to adopt habits naturally based on interests.