It is observed that, currently more and more people are working longer hours. What are the causes of this phenomenon? What effects does this have on the society? .

The 21st century has witnessed an unprecedented increase in the globalised marketplace. This has raised a general concern that more employees have been spending a significant amount of time at their workplaces. This essay will elaborate on the reasons for this phenomenon and analyse both sides of the issue. There are two main reasons that lead to worker’s overtime working. The primary reason is there are many working competitions between members in the company. In other words, one higher position requires a variety of conditions such as: achieve full target or fulfillment deadline which is due to a person entering into rivalry with another. One of the most effective ways is working harder to eliminate them. Besides, the daily expenditure such as: food, petroleum or school’s fees for children is rising day by day so working for extra hours is the best choice to boost their income. For instance, one factory worker’s salary per month is roughly 3 million VND but if he/she accepts working for longer hours their income will increase to 4 million VND. This strongly proves that working overtime may improve their life's qualities. This phenomenon has brought about some disadvantages to workers. Firstly, it can affect their family, decreasing work-life balance. To be more specific, if the employee is concerned about jobs, coming back home late regularly, he/she doesn't have any intimate conversations with their family. The result is that there might be familial conflicts or the most dangerous case can be is divorce. Furthermore, they have to sacrifice time, this means that they don’t spend time taking care of their children which can have many merits such as: their children can not receive love and upbringing from father/mother, becoming rebellious. On the contrary, working for longer times will achieve more money to have a better life. In conclusion, even though there exists a drawback to the imbalance in the worker’s life, it is my contention that the benefit from having a high income would outweigh the other.