It is no secret that today’s entertainment industry is extremely popular, with nearlyeveryone being engaged at some time in watching TV shows, movies and sportsgames. The North American sports industry alone generates a massive $67. 7billion every year. With the present emphasis on entertainment, sportsmen andwomen and professional entertainers can earn enormous salaries, with figures inthe millions for one game, appearance or film. This situation certainly does reflecttoday’s society’s obsession with entertainment.

It is no secret that today’s entertainment industry is extremely popular, with nearlyeveryone being engaged at some time in watching TV shows, movies and sportsgames. The North American sports industry alone generates a massive $67. 7billion every year. With the present emphasis on entertainment, sportsmen andwomen and professional entertainers can earn enormous salaries, with figures inthe millions for one game, appearance or film. This situation certainly does reflecttoday’s society’s obsession with entertainment. Many people argue that celebrities do not deserve such payment when work inother professions considered of equal or higher value to society is underpaid. A-listcelebrities can make over $20 million per movie, whilst many average workers canbarely make ends meet. Of course there are lots of people who say that there arebetter ways the money could be used, rather than allowing such a vast amount togo to just one person. This is a fairly naive point of view, though. So long as peoplewish to watch entertainment, advertising in turn will be present and the mostwatched celebrities will be able to earn high salaries, as their presence will ensurethe high viewing figures the advertisers desire. Though celebrities and sportsmen and sportswomen often make very large sumsof money, it can also be seen as unfair to say that they do not deserve it orpropose their money be used for something else. While it is true that they did notfind a cure for cancer or made a life-changing scientific discovery, their hard workand expertise created a product that the public wants to see and the high paymentmerely reflects their value. In conclusion, it is clear that today’s society is indeed a society obsessed withbeing entertained and the high salaries paid to those who entertain society clearlyreflect this. The high payments, however, are not necessarily out of place orundeserved.