IT IS MORE IMPORTANT FOR SCHOOLCHILDREN TO LEARN ABOUT LOCAL HISTORY THAN WORLD HISTORY?

It is universally acknowledged that learning history plays a crucial role in humanity, especially students. However, there are some controversial topics that the young should have an insight of their national history than the international one. From where I stand, I vividly agree with the statement mentioned above, and I will analyse the reasons. To start with, historic values can be conveyed through local historic curriculums. To be more specific, national historic records reflects the reality that particular places shape our lives. It provides schoolchildren with the foundation to explore their identity and nation via historical relics. For instance, Vietnamese students learnt about their victorious past, defeats and triumphs. Moreover, being aware of their roots helps them broaden their horizons, enhancing their understanding of the nation, traditional values, and a well-rounded perspective about life. Furthermore, learning about local history can promote a sense of patriotism. Specifically, through studying, they can understand their country’s condition in the wars and then appreciate their country, admire all the achievements that the ancestors reached in the past. In other words, while having historical lessons of aggressive Western wars, historical figures such as Uncle Ho, Vo Nguyen Giap and Vo Thi Sau heroine, and so on, students can instil patriotism and take pride in their nation. In addition, having deep consciousness of national identity, the young will be willing to defend their land against outside intruders, pay tribute to ancestors. In conclusion, although they still have some conflicts between the local and the world history, I believe that enriching the children’s knowledge about their national history is more important. Not only studying, but it is also developing the patriotism of compatriots.