It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history.

When it comes to history, there is a school of thought that young students should learn about the past of their own country first and foremost before going to the international history. I completely agree with this opinion. The most compelling argument for putting local history above international one in school is that it would be easier for pupils to learn. They have been unconsciously familiar with and strongly connected to the language and culture of their own country during early childhood, which helps set a solid foundation for learning national history. Memorizing historical names certainly typifies this, in which students would find it easier to learn the terms they can write down and pronounce more than doing so with what coming from another linguistic sphere. Another more pragmatic reason for prioritizing local history is that it is usually already easier to teach students what about their country than about the outside world. Generally, history educators are more knowledgeable about the past of their own country than of another specific civilization. In addition, materials and facilities for teaching local history are often more available than for foreign ones. Therefore, it would be difficult to reverse the condition to put more weight on the history of the world. Finally, global history should not be learnt by young schoolers because of its complexity. Most learners at very young age are not capable of connecting different historical events on the world stage, which could only be accomplished by students at master level or scholars. They should only be taught about what happened in their own country with less complicated matters to understand more easily and remember longer. In conclusion, I absolutely believe that history lessons delivered at school should be more about the past of the nation than that of the world.