It is important to make new friends than to make old friends

Friendship is the essential part of people's life. We spend most of our time with our friends. Keeping old friends is really important, however, some people believe that it is more important than making new friends. I disagree with them and believe it is necessary to have friends around you whether they are old or new, you may find a true friend by making new friends. To begin with, the world does not stand on one place and so do people. We go to school, university, work. In each period of time we meet people and some of them become our friends. As I remember through my own life I met new friends in each step of my growth. So I noticed when the person grows intellectually and emotionally, the circle of friends changes. In addition, when you come in contact with new people, you learn about their character and nature. As time passes, you find out more about them. This way, you can find a friend whom you can trust. For instance, when my friend moved to the United States, he made many friends in his work place. They often gathered and met in social events. Now he has a lot of good friends with whom he can share his problems and they help him to find solutions to them. Thus, making new friends helps in finding your true friend. Moreover, new friends can give you a lot of knowledge. For example, when I was in the university, I had many new friends. I used to go with them to different places and when we were together, we used to discuss about different and hard topics of our subjects. This way, I learned a lot about many things from their knowledge and view points. It helped me to grow both professionally and personally. To sum it up, it is difficult for some people to trust new people and therefore they believe that it is more important to keep old friends. Nonetheless, I believe that making new friends is necessary because I cannot live in a new place without having friends, I may find a friend whom I can trust, and I can learn many new things from them. By Roxana Sattarova