It is important to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. to what extend do you agree and disagree with this opinion? what sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

One essential stage in a child's growth is certainly the development of a conscience, which is linked to the ability to tell right from incorrect. This skill comes with time and good parenting, and my firm conviction is that punishment does not have much of a role to play in this. Therefore, I ought to disagree almost entirely with the given statement. To a number of extent the question depends on the age of the child. To punish a superb young child is both incorrect and foolish, as an infant will not understand what is happening or why he or she is being punished. Once the age of reason is reached however, a child can be rewarded for good behavior and discouraged from bad. This kind on the contrary firm approach will achieve more than harsh punishments, which might entail numerous adverse consequences unintended by the parents. To help a child learn the difference between right and incorrect, teachers and parents should firstly provide good role modelling in their own behavior. After that, if sanctions are needed, the punishment should not be of a physical nature, as that merely sends the message that it is acceptable for larger people to hit smaller ones an outcome which may well result in the child starting to bully others. Nor should the punishment be in any way cruel. Rather, teachers and parents can use a variety of methods to discipline their young charges, such as detention, withdrawal of privileges, and time-out. Making the punishment fit the crime is a useful notion, which would see children being made to pick up rubbish they have dropped, clean up graffiti they have drawn, or apologize to someone they have hurt. In these ways's responsibility is developed in the child, which leads too much better future behavior than does punishment.