It is important to keep your old friends than t is to make new friends. Do you agree, or disagree with this statament. Use specific reasons and examples to explain your idea.

It is true that in contemporary life people in many parts of the world are able to do their shopping, work and communicate with each other via the cyberspace. While there are clear positive aspects of this trend, there are also negative aspects of having less face-to-face contact with other people. On the one hand, the internet can be very handy in many ways. Many people use it to keep in touch with friends and family, using Facebook, or What’s App to send instant messages or to enjoy a quick chat. Many also choose online shopping, thus saving time and petrol on trips to the supermarket as well as hunting around different sites for bargains. Furthermore, society also benefits from modern technology. To illustrate, people can do their tasks from home and that in turn reduce the number of private cars on the streets. Fewer traffic jams and less pollution will make the cities better places to live in. On the other hand, there are some negative impacts of this trend as well. Firstly, as social beings, people need personal contacts, and virtual friendships which are formed online may not be genuine. The media carries many horror stories of youngsters who have fallen prey to paedophiles, for example. Secondly, online shopping is not always appropriate, depending on the item. It is best, for instance, to try on clothes before buying, and while a bookworm can find almost any book title that they want online, they will certainly miss browsing the shelves of bookstores. Finally, personal interaction with work colleagues can generate ideas and avoid misunderstandings. In conclusion, performing the routine tasks easily and quickly from home with the help of technology brings lot of benefits and people can save their important time and energy. However this trend has some negative impacts on both the society and the people that we should be aware of.