It is important to ensure that children with a wide range of abilities and from a variety of social backgrounds mix with each other at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge

Children have impressionable mind. Children are the future torchbearers of humanity. They are innocent and still learning their way through the world. School are established to inculcate proper values in them. . Some people do not agree that children who are disabled in any way or from very poor background or a different culture, religion, caste or creed should mix with children who are abled and have an appropriate social status. According to these people, if disabled children go to school with abled children or if poor children go to same school with children whose family can provide them everything, then they will feel inferior and awkward which will make them loose self confidence. They may also go into depression. Children from poor background may also indulge in criminal activity in order to live the same lifestyle their peers are enjoying. Children, who are disabled are generally sent to special schools where they can be educated at a pace they are comfortable with and avoid undue competition. In my opinion, making children from different types of social background or with different abilities go to same school, gets them ready for future. Its an extremely competitive world and no one can determine their strenghts and weaknesses untill they are put to test. When they meet other children at school, they get to know that it’s a huge diverse world and each one is special in their own way. It also helps them to form long lasting friendships. Also, interacting with children from different cultures, religions, etc will help them develop a sense of respect towards other cultures, etc. Further, even if differently abled children are sent to same school where there are abled children, it will prepare them for the future challenges they may face and encourage them to never give up. So, in the end, in the times of globalisation, it would be wrong not to send children from different backgrounds and abilities to same school.