It is important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history.

Many people have valued the role of local history to schoolchildren over that of world history. In my opinion, I completely disagree with those people as both of them have the same meaning to students. There are a number of reasons why some support to teach hometown’s history. First, by having thorough insights into what happened in the past at one’s locality, students may develop their patriotism. For example, children of primary and secondary schools in my hometown are taught about how their ancestors defended their land against outside intruders and reclaimed sovereignty, and as a result, they are like to take pride in their origin and treasure they have today. Additionally, I think it is not only students’ privilege but also their responsibility to know about their own history to understand hometown’s tradition values and identity. However, I believe that learning about world history shares equal importance just as local one. In the first place, when students accquire more knowledge about the world’s past events, they could be provided with a more well-rounded perspective of life. Indeed, lessons about the World War or Feminism protest again women’s abuse and discrimination, and therefore, they help younger leraners to enhance understanding about aspects of the world. In the second place, by being taught about other countries’ historical backgrounds, it would benefit students in their future career. This means that students accumulate knowledge of this particular field at an early age, which make them possess a golden selling point to work for foreign enterprises, especially those who value company culture like Japan. In conclusion, although many people argue that teaching domestic history for students is more essential than international ones, I believe that they have distinctively equal meanings to children.