It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

I strongly agree with the concept of retribution to ensure children are conditioned for correct behaviour in their lives ahead. Human behavior and character are strongly influenced by the upbringing and the formative years of early childhood play a big part in making an individual to be valuable and socially responsible person. For these values to be instilled in the mind of a young person, it is important for them to understand the difference between what is correct and what is unacceptable at an early age. A recent research suggests that the human brain begins to store the information related to social behavior around the age of 4 in a specialised area of the brain called the pre-frontal cortex. This inference which has been discovered recently by science has been practiced traditionally even prior to this scientific basis by the earlier generations who started the training of a child at age 4. Various practices are followed in the education strategy to inculcate positive values and to eliminate negative behaviour. An important technique for achieving this is through the carrot and stick approach which involves a 'carrot', which is praising the good behaviour either through verbal appreciation or physical gifts for positive enforcement of the trait or conversely, for any negative behavior, the 'stick' is used to negate the tendency for similar behavior in the future, which is in the form a punishment. This positive reinforcement and negative elimination technique has been proven to very successful in achieving the desired level of behaviour modification for youngsters, both historically as well in the recent times. It is important to ensure that the pusnishment does not impact the young mind negatively. Firstly, experienced educators and good parents avoid using corporal punishment as it has been found to cause psychological problems and difficulties later in life without actually conditioning the child to leave damaging behaviour. Secondly, any form of demeaning language needs to be avoided. It is important in the punishment process to segregate the person from the behavior to make it clear that the punishment is for the specific behaviour and instance and not related to the individuals general approach. To conclude, while punishment is required to ensure appropriate training, it should not be overdone or become personal for it to be effective.