It is important for all towns and cities to have large public places

There is an argument whether it is necessary for every town or city to spend vast areas for constructing communal places such as squares and parks. Nevertheless, I totally disagree with this opinion for two reasons. First of all, these constructions require cavernous plots of land in the towns or cities. For this reason, building such enormous places like these is such a waste of land and it is definitely needless. We can still have parks and squares sited in the cities but with small areas. Otherwise, there are a lot more prominent areas and buildings which the government needs to increase in size rather than entertaining places. For example, school campuses, hospitals, residential estates, etc. Second, the construction costs will be sky-high, and again, this is another way of splurging. The government has way more social issues which need to be laid out instead of building luxuries. Especially, raising funds for charity, renovating derelict facilities or helding some scholarship programmes in order to encourage students with their studies. Some people may think that having a big park or a big square may be a proper place for doing workout exercises such as walking or running. This may be helpful for exercising, but only on sunny days. Nevertheless, it may be impossible to workout in the park on rainy days. Instead, the resident can go to gym centers every day without the interference of the weather. In conclusion, it appears to me that it is unnecessary for urban areas to have such mass public places.