It is generally believed that the Internet is an excellent means of communication, but some people suggest that it may not be the best place to find information.

The internet is used for two main purposes, for interactions, or to find information. While it is an excellent platform for the former, it can be less than reliable for the latter. The internet has certainly streamlined communications, while it is true that phones make interactions instant, only the internet allows for video calling, multiplayer online gaming which enables instantaneous team playing, and online teaching. This has enabled the world to become increasingly connected, especially in today’s global world with families spread across different continents and enabled truly global businesses to thrive. However, the same ease with which we connect makes it effortless to post erroneous information online as well. In my view, information from the internet should be used with caution as there are many unreliable websites. For example, many people use Wikipedia as a resource, however this site allows unrestricted editing and thus prone to error or malicious changes to articles. Another example is social media - where many people obtain information on current affairs - which is probably the worst offender. Studies have shown that much of the content is untrue and extreme, and may cause radicalisation of vulnerable youths and adults. Yet, there are also numerous reputable sources of information on the internet, and it can be an incredibly useful tool for students researching assignments, or anyone who wants to keep up to date with current affairs. One just has to verify that the source is factual and reliable. In conclusion, the internet is a superb way to communicate and can, with proper verification, also be an excellent place to source information.