It is generally accepted that families are not as close as they used to be. Give some reasons why this change has happened and suggest how families can be brought closer together. Include any relevant examples from your experience. pyoy

There is no denying that family ties are becoming weaker. This is particularly true in western countries where relationships are becoming less and less relevant. There are several reasons behind this unfortunate developement. The most important, of course is change in our lifestyles, values and goals. Families that spend a lot of time together tend to be closer. Families where come face to face with one another have hardly anything that ties them together. In the olden days parents and children used to live and work together. In many families, chilndren pursued same career as their father. They learned the trade or craft from their parents and elder siblings. This allowed them to spend more time with their family and made their relationship stornger. Now we are living in an age of individualism. Everyone needs their space. This has made us more self -centered than our parents or grandparents. This also reflects in our relationships. We no l9nger believe in making adjustments or compromises. We want everything our way. Th8s attitudes create strain in our relationshipsThere is yet another reason that affects family bonds. People are increasingly moving to another city or country insearch of better education, jobs or living standards. They leave their family behind. while it is possible to keep in touch through modern communication means, an email or phone call is not eaual to face to face interaction. The only way to forge better ties with our near and dear ones to spend more time with them. We must relaize that our biggest strength is our family. Relationships are like potted plants. We need to l9ve and nourish them. Of we do not give them the love and affection they need, they will wilt. To conclude, if we need better family relationships we must be willing to adjust and compromise. The only way is to win l9ve is to give love. Instead of confining ourselves to our space, we must come out of it. We must let others in too.