4. As a result of tourism and the increasing number of people travelling, there is a growing demand for more flights. What problems does this have on the environment? What measures could be taken to solve those problems? gdkg

The number of trips by plane has soared in the last years because of tourism. This essay will discuss two problems that come as a result of a growth in the number of flights: air pollution and fewer green areas in cities. This text will also suggest the main solutions to the aforementioned trends including higher taxes on all flights and INCREASED control in the number of trips by airplane done in airports. The demand for more flights has caused an escalation in air pollution and a decrease in the green areas available in cities. Although air pollution accounts for 2% of gas emissions, these gases stay longer in the atmosphere which makes them extremely harmful to the environment. In addition, the airports constructed due to an increase in flights, destroy the scarce green areas cities have. For example, it is expected that the construction of the new airport in Mexico City will not only further pollute this metropolis but also destroy thousands of meters of land used for harvesting. Air travel contributes to the destruction of natural areas and to air pollution. Two ways in which the harms to nature could be counteracted are the imposition of ´´green´´ taxes on all flights and a reduction of the quantity of air travel done every day. Flights need to be further taxed to prevent people from making unnecessary trips. Also, a control in the number of flights done would prevent the construction of new airports which destroy urban green areas. For example, with FEWER flights and with no new airports built, not only the air we breathe will be cleaner, but also the natural areas in the metropolis will not be destroyed. The number of daily flights should be controlled. This essay discussed two problems that arise with air travel such as a greater number of gas emissions and less natural areas. This text also suggested two solutions as well including a compulsory taxation on all flights and a monitored control in the number of air travel OCCURRING every day.