is prison sentence helps in reducing crime? Agree or disagree

In every country, government abides by the notion that its population should follow the proper law and order. Similarly, to maintain the zerocrime rate and to embed the consequence of crime in people's mind, I would like to say, that prison sentence must be given to the person depending on the performed crime. It is of no doubt, that it will set an example for the other people that no crime should be forgiven no matter how serious or trivial crime will be. On one hand, the prison punishment surely brings down the crime rate, but in my opinion, the type of punishment should be based on seriousness and type of crime. Like, if a person is breaking any traffic rule by driving without the license, then such crime should be handled by imposing monetary fine on the person not by prison sentence. On the other hand, if the same person driving the car in reckless manner leading to the dangerous accident or causing damage not only to others but to self also. In such scenario, one must be charged with the prison sentence to make sure no such crime should be repeated in the future by anyone else. To summarize the whole thing, it is suggestable to impose the prison sentence depending on the type of crime to not only reduce the crime but also make people understand that no matter how small or big crime is, everyone is equal for law and they cannot be excused from punishment.