It is currently believed that children's behavior and misconduct is due to the lack of strict discipline and punishment applied by parents.

Parenting has become more challenging these days compared to a few years ago. This is due to the overwhelming information on nurturing and developing their sons' or daughters' behaviour. Punishing children, as one of the ways, is debatable. Although many argue that punishment is the better approach, I believe in a balanced way would help more in their overall development, and the benefits of it will be covered in this essay. Firstly, if parents are so strict with their young and punishing them for their every wrong-doing, there are no ways children could explore further. . The fear of what if it goes wrong cannot allow them to take any risk. This mentality continues to grow with them, which is detrimental. To illustrate, the national cognitive psychology department surveyed a few elderly, and 90% of them admitted that they never tried anything new because of the fear of failure. Thus, it is evident that this way has a counteractive effect in the growing age. Contrarily, if the young are never punished for any of their traits, they can never know the difference between good and bad. Hence, this approach can have a counteractive effect. However, contrary to these popular opinions, there is an interim solution that yields prospective results. As per the New York child health study, 85% of successful people have tremendous family support, and at the same time, their upbringing was occasionally strict. Thus, it proves to be the most viable path. All in all, neither too strict nor too lenient can never be fruitful. Instead, a balanced approach has been witnessed to be the best among all.