It is commonly believed that nowadays main factors that affect a child's development are media, pop culture and friends. A different point of view is that family plays the most significant role.

Many people claim that social factors such as media, music, and peers have major influence on children’s development. Although that argument is convincing in some aspects, I firmly believe that family has a vital contribution in the formation of a child’s growth. Since children have more and more opportunities to access mass information and develop social relationships, their characteristics are also affected by those ones. A large number of teenagers spend much time on browsing the Internet to read news, watch videos, and listen to music. As a result, they tend to catch up with the latest trend and become obsessed with it. In addition, the bandwagon effect is also another phenomenon happening when kids enjoy their group of friends' company. Because they want to share in common, talk together about the same fascinating topics. . . , they are willing to copy others. Hence, they can assimilate into a community and become a part of it. On the other hand, family also takes an essential part in developing a child’s personality in many ways. First of all, each family has a religious ritual, distinct tradition, which has been passed down from ancestors to the next generation for several years. The children in that family are required to follow and preserve those specialized values as a responsibility. Secondly, children’s habits can be created when they imitate adults by observing their actions and attitudes. For example, a kid will lower his head when greeting elders or receive objects by both hands if he sees his parents have done so. Therefore, parents should attach special importance to education for children at home so they will have good manners and behaviors For several reasons mentioned in this essay, it seems to me that family is the most prominent factor affecting a child’s development.