It is common nowadays that students do not return to their hometown after graduation and make a contribution to its growth. What are the causes of this? What can be done to encourage students to go back and contribute?

Nowadays, it is commom for international students not to return to their homeland after graduation. A typical example is that out of the 17 winner of the program “ Road to Olympia” who went to study in Australia, only two would return home. Why is this “ brain drain” becoming more and more common? How can we stop this phenomenon? This essay will discuss the reason and offer some solution of this problem. The first reason why many international students do not want to return home after finishing their studies is that they want to find a job. If they return, the ability to get a job can apply the skills, knowledge, and experience they have learned in the very difficult socio-economic context of Vietnam. Not to mention salary and social realtionships. The next problem is when returning, how will the knowledge and skills that young people acquire? According to research, international students who graduate with a bachelor's degree can only apply soft skills, not technical or professional skills. For example, when international students return, they often work at foreign multinational companies. But the branches of these multinational companies in Vietnam often do not have a research and development (R&D) department, but only produce, sell or do business in the supply chain. Therefore, technical skills become unnecessary. If the country wants to use technical expertise, the government must have programs to encourage domestic institutions to accept returning students. Since they only work for local companies, they can apply these skills. In addition, foreign universities need to expand internship facilities, so that international students have the opportunity to work not only with domestic enterprises but also at enterprises in Vietnam. or other countries. From there, international students will have the opportunity to establish relationships, so that when they return, they will not feel surprised. Thereby, you also have the opportunity to find businesses where they have the opportunity to apply their skills and knowledge. In conclusion, if we can do the above, we don't have to worry about 'brain drain' anymore, but then we can think about 'exporting brains, ' because Vietnamese students are inherently smart and hardworking.