It is certalnly true that the position of women in society has undergone a dramatic change in the past twenty years but I do nat feel that this is a direct cause of the indisputable increase in juvenlle related problems during this period.

It is certalnly true that the position of women in society has undergone a dramatic change in the past twenty years but I do nat feel that this is a direct cause of the indisputable increase in juvenlle related problems during this period. tis now accepted that young women should find work on leaving school; indeed, to rely totaltu on their parents' financial support is no longer an option in many families. Likewise, once they get married, the majority of women continue working since the financial pressures of setting up a house and establishing a reasonable standard of living often requires two incomes, Twenty years ago, it was common for women to give up work once they had children and devote their time to caring for their children. This is no longer the general rule and the provision of professionally-run child care facilities and day nurseries have removed much of the responsibility for child rearing that used to fall to mothers. However, these facilities come at a cost and often require two salaries coming into a family to be afforded. I do not believe that the increase in the number of working mothers has resulted in children being brought up less well than previously. Indeed, it could be argued that by giving mothers the opportunity to work and earn extra money children can be better provided for than previously. There is more money for luxuries and holidays and a more secure family life is possible. Of course, there are limits as to the amount of time that ideally should be spent away from home and the ideal scenario would be for one of the parents (often the wvife) to have a part-time job and thus be available for their children before and after school. It is Important to establish the correct balance between family life and working life