It is better to stop reading and listening to the news for a period of a few days or weeks.

In the modern era, by improvement in technology, we can read and listen to the news on many devices and gadgets, for instance on TV or our phone. There are conflicting views about whether it is necessary to be aware of all the news around the globe on a routine basis or not. Despite the fact that, nowadays is an information age and we all should be aware of what is happening around us and for all humans and nature, it is my firm conviction that it is a double-edged sword. I personally believe that it is harmful to our lives and mental health to follow news on a basis routine. To support this there are several reasons, two of which is going to be aptly explored in the following. First and foremost, each day many catastrophic and disastrous event happens around the globe. Therefore most of the news is distressful and presumably has a deep and destructive influence on our mental health. These could be so stressful or depressing or both. According to a famous quote, no news is good news. If we add all of this bad news and stressful information about wars, abuses, natural catastrophes, inflation, etc. on a routine basis besides our personal issues and problems, it could be extremely hard to handle and is beyond the individual capabilities. Therefore the risk of depression, insomnia, loss of motivation can increase significantly. Stopping this habit for a while can help us to feel less stressed and be more productive in our personal lives. Another worthwhile reason to be mentioned is that reading and listening to the news every day may take up a lot of our day. We can spend this time doing something more beneficial instead, for instance reading a book, or start to learn a new language or a musical instrument to gain real knowledge. I personally think that we do not spend enough time for ourselves to increase our satisfaction in life. Also, nowadays news is full of incorrect or partially correct with specific and biased views. Take a personal experience as an example; if I could go back in time, I would definitely manage my time to spend more time learning an instrument rather than spending hours following pointless news about celebrities. In summary of what has been illustrated and discussed in detail, it is a foregone conclusion that stops reading and listening to the news for a while is beneficial for our mental health and our life as a whole. Stopping this habit can help us to become happier people and also more beneficial for society.