It is better for the students to live away from the home during their university studies rather than staying with their parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People may have contrasting views on whether it is good for students to stay with their parents or not during university studies with some arguing that it is better to stay in hostel accommodation. While is is agreed that staying with parents have some advantages, in my opinion, students should stay away from parents in order to get some valuable exposure. Admittedly, there is no denying that staying with parents during studies has some benefits. For instance, it would be more economical for students to stay with their parents. Since there is extra expense for food and accommodation when staying in hostel, it would not be affordable to everyone, especially, those who come from weak financial background. Yet another point is that, parents can always have a watch over their children. As a result, they will not develop any undesirable friendship or habits. However, there are many compelling reasons why I believe that students should stay on their own. Firstly, students will become self-reliant and confident individuals. This is due to the fact that while living alone, they learn to manage their personal matter on their own and take decisions without the help of parents. Obiviously, this wouldn't be possible when staying with parents who are over-protective. Secondly, students will get exposure to outside world since they will be staying and mingling with individuals coming from different backgrounds. Therfore, people management skills of students would improve and will help them become well-rounded individuals. To sum up, even though staying with parents have its own benefits, I would agree with the idea of staying away from them during tertiary education.