University education should be free to everyone, regardless of income. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People may have contrasting views on making university education free with some arguing that governments ought to provide it free of cost to all students. While it is agreed that free education may lead to some problems, my personal view is that education up to college level should be free since it would benefit the individual as well as the society. Admittedly, when tertiary level education is made free, it can cause some problems as it may put a huge financial burden on the government. Most governments, especially those in developing nations, would find it hard to raise the funds needed for this because providing education for all would require constructing buildings, and other related infrastructure, paying salaries of lecturers and other staff. For this reason, in countries in Asia, Africa and even in rich nations, governments are not able to provide free education to all its citizens due to shortage of funds. Hence, many argue that providing free university education is not practical. However, there are compelling reasons why I feel that all students should be provided free college education. Firstly, such a step would greatly benefit the individual. Today university level education is prohibitively expensive with the result that many deserving students from poor economic background are unable to get a degree, and thereby improve their career prospects. However, when governments provide education up to university free of cost, it would solve this problem. What is more, a large pool of educated youth would definitely help the nation progress faster, and the examples of countries such as the UK, Japan or South Korea prove this point. To sum up, though providing free education to all its citizens may pose some challenges, I would argue that it should be the priority of all governments.