It Is Better For Students To Live Away From Home During Their University Studies.

Most students are often faced with the dilemma of going far off from home to the university or attending a school in close proximity to their parents. This essay discusses the benefits of living afar from family and also some disadvantages, although I believe to a large extent, it is beneficial to students to be situated on campus. Often times, proceeding to a higher level of education signifies coming into adulthood and there is the opportunity to discover one's true self during this period. However, this can only be achieved by being of considerable distance to one's kinsmen. For instance, at the tertiary institution, youth are free to make decisions for themselves, explore various aspects of life without the watchful eyes of their parents. This helps them in developing self awareness and independence as adults. Another benefit of moving away to the university is the avenue to build new relationships and a new community at large. Most often that not, while living with their kinsmen, minors tend to grow and play with the same set of friends right from childhood. However, the separation provided by going away to a higher institution pushes them to make and adapt to new people, new cultures and different ways of living. On the other hand, the living costs, which include, for example, accommodation, feeding and probably transportation can be minimized when wards are closer to their kin for learning. This however is the major disadvantage of being far away, as this can become quite a burden on the ward and the parents. In conclusion, self awareness and the opportunity to build for themselves new communities or allies outside the ones they are used are some of the reasons why it is beneficial to students to be apart from their family while studying at college. Although I strongly agree with these advantages, the living cost should also be considered in the decision making.