Research shows that a lot of energy is saved if people spend a shorter time in the workplace. To save energy (e. g. gas, electricity etc. ), some companies are closing down on one day per week. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, energy consumption has become a controversial issue. Many companies have reduced the working days to save a portion of the power. Both pros and cons of the mentioned idea with my opinion will be illustrated in the following lines. On the one hand, many people think that reducing the working days is considered beneficial to the country because it saves a huge amount of power. In other words, the majority of the used power is directed to companies and governmental offices; additionally, the needed transportation for the employees needs more amount of fuel. Therefor, if the majority of office employees were instructed to stay at home one more day per week, they would save an effective amount of electrical power, and reduce the fuel consumption in transportation purposes. For example, The capital of Egypt, Cairo, has around twenty million residents. If thirty percent of them were office employees and had the chance to take one more day-off, they would reduce a huge amount of consumption of fuel and electricity. Thus, it is may be beneficial to reduce the working days. On the other hand, some of the belief that reducing the working days will negatively affect the productivity which may decrease the economic strength. To illustrate, some workers believe that reducing the working days will directly reduce their productivity which is considered negative impact. For instance, decreasing the working periods of a mechanical workshop is going to reduce the amount of repaired pieces of equipment and will reduce the income. Actually, this issue could be solved by activating work from home for the office employees, which could save the used power by them, especially in transportation. In conclusion, decreasing the working days has its merits and demerits. In my opinion, its advantages are more than disadvantages because it reduces both fuel and electricity consumption; moreover, work from home may keep the same productivity.