It is better for students to learn from their classmates than from their teachers

These days, it is believed that students learn from their peers with many benefits. I strongly agree with the idea that students learn from their classmates more effectively than from their teachers because it helps them better access knowledge and develop their own skills. In the first place, I strongly believe that the process of students learning together will greatly benefit because they can help access to knowledge and deep learning. According to a study published by the University of Minnesota, researchers found that working in groups can help students better understand classroom materials. Therefore, mutual learning is a great form of support between students in which they can intellectually interact with each other, debate each other's points of view, and form opinions and conclusions. This process gains a deeper understanding and longer retention of knowledge. Another reason why I agree with learning from classmates is that students can develop themselves as developing critical thinking, along with problem-solving skills and communication skills. For example, a Walden University study showed that cooperative learning not only exposes students to the thought processes of their classmates, but it also expands their thinking and worldview by demonstrating that there is no one right way to approach a problem. That will help students gradually form critical thinking and problem-solving thinking in many different ways. On the other hand, there is an argument that students should learn with their teachers. However, the traditional teaching method of teachers can generally ineffective because it lacks interactivity, students receive few opportunities to practice group dynamics and teamwork. It also tends to inhibit students' creativity and academic development. For instance, many students have a fear of giving wrong answers, fear of being judged, and not daring to give their own opinions. Peer learning removes all these obstacles, improving students' learning and collaboration skills. In conclusion, although the role of teachers in student learning cannot be completely denied, I believe that learning from friends will be a better way for students to reach their full potential. To achieve the best learning effect, students should combine learning background knowledge from teachers and actively learning from friends.