These days people spend a lot of money on marriage why they do so. Is this positive or negative development?

Nowadays, people spend a huge amount of money on weddings and this is possibly due to the fact that they want to show their wealth to the world. In my opinion, this is negative development because such expensive weddings put financial burden on people. The foremost reason why people spend extravagantly on weddings is that they want to show their wealth and status to the society. In others words, a large number of guests are invited by people on weddings because they want to impress them. Therefore they not only book luxurious palaces but also prepare exotic food and give expensive gifts. All the arrangements are done to flaunt personal wealth. Take Ambani family for example which is India's rich family has spent millions on their daughter's marriage and this expensive activity was covered by media of the whole world. Hence, it is reasonable to say that most people want to catch the attention of others through expensive weddings. I personally think that organizing expensive weddings is a negative development because this places financial constraints on people. This is to say that, it is not esay go arrange expensive weddings as it requires a lot of money. Thus, people have to borrow loans from bank and after marriage they not able to return money to the bank. As a result, they go bankrupt and become a victim of dispression. Take punjab for example, which is known for expensive weddings where 70% of people borrow loan and only 20% people return it. In conclusion, government has to enact laws on expensive weddings so that people can not become a victim of mental disease.