It is believed by some that schools should be responsible for encouraging students to eat healthier.

It is believed by some that schools should be responsible for encouraging students to eat healthier. On the other hand, others think that this should be the sole responsibility of their parents. I believe that, while both options can have a major impact on students’ diets, a combination of both might be the best choice for students. It is undeniable that meals in schools can be useful in helping students familiarize themselves with healthier foods. For one, students have little recourse over what they eat in schools. Therefore, should the school implement healthier food items during school meals, students might be more inclined to try them, as there are scarcely any other alternatives to what they currently have. This could have the effect of allowing students to try healthy dishes that they might not have enjoyed before. One other benefit of school meals in creating a better diet for students would be peer pressure. A few students may be encouraged by their classmates to try a healthy food item, or they could be more likely to taste healthier dishes if they see their friends enjoying them. However, at-home encouragement can play an important role in creating healthy eating habits for students. In contrast to school meals, which are often perceived as unappetizing, homemade meals might be a more welcomed sight to many students. And this sense of comfort might make it easier for students to try new, healthier dishes. This process can be made even easier if parents adjust the content of the meals to fit their child’s tastes, while still including more healthy ingredients. However, these options can be a daunting task for working parents, as cooking in such manners is often very labor-intensive. In conclusion, there is no doubt that both schools and families play an important role in improving students’ diets. However, in order to truly create an environment that encourages students to adopt healthier eating habits, a close collaboration between both the household and the schools is needed.