It is becoming common to take a year off in order to work or travel between high school and university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this? What is your point of view?

Almost every day of the week, you can read stories about students who take a gap year after finishing their high school. In fact, some media have promoted the idea that students should relax before starting the university; however, others believe that it can decrease their motivation to continue their education. From my point of view if they spend a year off on useful experiences, they will get positive effects on their life. On this account, taking a year off provides an opportunity to learn new skills which students do not follow them before. Indeed, they have enough time to evaluate themselves and improve their weaknesses. Furthermore, it provides time to relax and travel after the high school. For example, travelling can help them to mingle with different types of people and cultures and this may improve their knowledge and experience. On the contrary, some people believe that taking a gap year after the high school can postpone starting professional carrier of students. In fact, the gap causes a series of delays in graduating from university and getting a job. Moreover, if students decide to work, they might get used to receiving an income and because of this they will not want to come back to their student life. According to the findings of a recent research conducted by university of Tehran, Iran, more than %40 of students who work after high school prefer to stop education and work full time. In conclusion, although there are some disadvantages in taking a gap year after high school, in my opinion the result depends on how this time has been spent.