It is a popular opinion that the number of people who commit crimes in urban cities is more than in rural areas. In my opinion, the main reasons are unemployment and the high costs of living in the cities. The solutions can be found by both the government and society.

To begin with, to find out why the crime rate is higher in urban cities than in the countryside, society needs to understand why people commit crimes. In this situation, the pattern and psychology can be found deep down in human’s first needs. Maslow’s pyramid provides us with the information that everyone’s needs are food, rest, air, home. Unfortunately, in these days and age, the majority of the needs require money. It seems that in urban cities the population is always higher and life in the city is very dynamic. Therefore, there is always competition between people to find a job, which leads to a high level of unemployment. The cost of living in the city has always been higher than in rural areas. With the high level of unemployment, a lot of people do not have a stable income, which is why they have to commit such horrible crimes to survive, even if they do not want to. However, several solutions can be found by the government and the people themselves. The authorities can try to reduce the level of unemployment by promoting entrepreneurs and businessmen to start the business by cutting taxes and paying subsidies. Therefore there will be more working places for people. Moreover, people can make free courses for improving qualifications and working skills for people who do not have jobs. By reducing the level of unemployment, the crime rate will decrease. In conclusion, the main reason why the people who commit the crime in the cities more than in rural areas is unemployment. The solution is to reduce the level of unemployment for people to have a stable income, so they would not have the motivation to commit crimes.