It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime is a direct influence of the increase in violence in media. To what extent do you agree with the above statement?

It is believed by many people that the growing crimes in youth is a result of showing crimes and other violence in television and other forms of media. I completely agree with this and the essay below will further justify my stance. . To begin with, these days most of the young generation is spending time on mobiles and televisions, for entertainment. The movies they watch in the big screens and television, the shows they see in the OTT platforms are full of violence, sex, and drugs. Since most of the youth are fascinated towards the things the lead character does, they also want to portray the same things in the real life to feel themselves as a hero. In addition, the news channels nowadays are not stopping by simply reporting a crime. Instead, they are provoking through special shows which present how the recent crime was done using fictional characters. For example, every weekend there is a show on local media in India, which shows how the recent popular crime was happened in a very precise manner. Furthermore, Video games are also playing an important role in increasing the juvenile crimes. These games are different from those which we saw 10 years ago as games nowadays are filled with violence and theft. While staying active on video games most of the time, children are more provoked of sensitive situations these days. For example, Grand theft and mortal combat are the games that shows how to hit somebody hard and how to rob things by killing people. To conclude, the media these days affects the young minds negatively and encouraging them to commit illegal activities. However, there is a strong need for parents and governments to monitor the children and media houses, respectively.