It has been said that the world is becoming a global village in which there are no boundaries to trade and communication. Do the benefits of globalization outweigh the drawbacks?

There is a tendency that the boundaries between different countries have become less evident due to the development of globalization. Personally, I think this phenomenon could bring more merits than demerits, which I will elaborate further in the following paragraphs. On one hand, globalization has several benefits. Firstly, more multi-national enterprises establish factories in less-developed countries, which could generate employment opportunities, so that people would have a higher income. This could increase the national productivity and contribute to the economic growth. Secondly, the price of products has been reduced due to the fierce competition between local producers and international producers. Thus, consumers could enjoy goods with more reasonable price. Plus, free trade enables people to have a wider range of products to buy. Consequently, the standard of living of people could be raised. Lastly, with more cooperation and communication between countries, misunderstanding and conflicts can be effectively reduced. This can help strengthen political relationships and facilitate a harmonious world. On the other hand, globalization is not always beneficial. To begin with, enormous enterprises move their countries to developing countries for lower labor force and materials costs. This phenomenon could lead to job loss in developed countries. Therefore, unemployed citizens might develop resentment towards the government and even protest against the government. This would impair social stability. Furthermore, globalization provides people exposure to different cultures, some people especially youngsters might imitate and admire other cultures blindly. This would impair their sense of belonging to their nation and reduce their culture identity. For example, young people all over the world are fascinated by Hollywood blockbusters but have limited knowledge of films of their own country. In conclusion, although there are chances that globalization can affect people negatively, I believe that this trend could bring more pros than cons.