It has been becoming increasingly common for fathers to take off some amount of time after being a father. In my opinion, it has economic ramifications, it is a positive medium that should be encouraged.

It has been becoming increasingly common for fathers to take off some amount of time after being a father. In my opinion, it has economic ramifications, it is a positive medium that should be encouraged. Critics agree that overall, the implications are negative for the economy.  Most companies have already taken into account maternity leave in their yearly budget. Should fathers take off extra time to take care of their children, some companies may struggle to pay for some money or compete to gain profits. Furthermore, in business both small and big companies employers would not allocate wages to help their workers, the result might affect the family’s condition. It means that less money for consumers and parents who need additional means to provide for their children. Nonetheless, this change seems to be positive in gender equality. In history, there was a big difference between men and women related to institutionalized hierarchy. Moreover, in the last centuries, equal treatment affected primarily women, but it should be fair in order not to discriminate gender. Giving time-off for fathers from their staff could indeed help their women to become equal in that situation. In addition, the majority of men do not need to elongate the priority of caring, it should be shorter but remain significant. In conclusion, despite the economic tradeoff, most men should be given paternity leave to be with a newborn child. Having said that negatives can be lessened if the time is limited relative to maternity leave.