It has become common in recent years to hear about professional athletes being involved in violent crimes. Some people argue that sports leagues and teams do not do enough to minimize violence in their respective sports or to punish these athletes, thus sending the wrong message to young fans. Discuss some actions teams can take to protect the respectability of their sport.

Many people have criticized that some athletes perform violent acts which have diminished the image of their corresponding sports. In my opinion, some precautionary measures have to be done by the sports’ association so that less detrimental effects will be casted on the reputation of the sports as well as the society Most athletes cherish their opportunity of being able to be prioritized into first team, meaning that they are not willing to be benched or become a substitute in a squad due to a limited career expectancy for a professional athlete. Compared with other professions like accountant, medical officer and engineer, these professionals can generally earn more following the increase of ages and experience, whereas the athlete would gain less as their physical condition would be gradually weaker. Take a professional footballer named Messi as an example. The salary now paid by his sport club, Barcelona, is cut to half comparing to that of five years ago. The reason can mostly result from his aging. Besides, deduction of salary and bonus should be a direct and deterrent method to prohibit athletes from behaving offensive actions. Although some athletes could benefit from getting considerable sponsorship fees by promoting various products ranging from fashionable clothing, nutritional foods to even medicine, a number of athletes are still highly dependent on the income given by their sports club. Only a proportional and famous athlete could attract sponsors to provide them an alternate income to maintain their living. To conclude, athletes should understand the consequences made by their violence and misconduct. No tolerance should be granted in order to preserve the fame of a sport and order of the society.