Certain nations buy a huge quantity of food from abroad. This essay believes that this is a negative trend because this contributes to global warming and harmful agricultural practices.

Certain nations buy a huge quantity of food from abroad. This essay believes that this is a negative trend because this contributes to global warming and harmful agricultural practices. Global warming is one of the negative consequences of importing an enormous amount of food from overseas. This is because when a country buys a large number of perishable food items such as fruits, vegetables, and dairy products from other parts of the world, air freight is primarily used as the fastest mode of transportation to deliver these goods quickly and safely. However, these cargo planes are detrimental to our environment because they burn an incredible amount of fossil fuels which increases greenhouse gas emissions thus contributing to global warming. It is estimated, for example, that up to 13, 000 tonnes of CO2 are released into the atmosphere every year by airplanes carrying food products from tropical countries. Another negative outcome of this trend is poor farming practices. This is to say that, as the demand for food in overseas markets increases, it puts a strain on domestic food productions. Domestic farmers resort to using harmful chemicals like synthetic fertilizers, pesticides, and insecticides to increase their crop yield to meet the growing demand. Long-term use of these hazardous chemicals is not only harmful to our food, but they also deplete soil fertility, turning fertile land into barren land. According to the Indian Agricultural Ministry, the use of chemical fertilizers by Indian farmers has risen significantly over the last three decades owing to rising global demands for rice. In conclusion, this essay thinks that importing huge amounts of food from overseas is a negative trend because this causes serious environmental damage like global warming and promotes poor agricultural practices.