IS THE ABILITY TO READ AND WRITE MORE IMPORTANT TODAY THAN IN PAST? WHY?

In this fast moving world, every aspect of day to day living is heading towards modernization. The capability to read and write is gaining important to cop up with the technology improving in almost every field. This essay will discuss the reasons about the neccessity to be able to read and write. To begin with, there is an increase in online facilities for every part of the day. For instance, in this pandemic times people are adapting to online payment, buying groceries from apps providing home delivery and so on. In order to cooperate with this changing times, one should have the potential to understand and take down the information and details. Adding further, in order to fully interact with people basic interface skills are mandatory, besides vocalizing the capacity to read and write is needed for the completion of tasks on every day basis. Reading and writing are vital for the understanding of the news and statistics from newspapers, magazines, journals, transportation schedule and of course the internet. Though in the past, reading and writing were given extreme importance because people had no option but to write letters to communication with family and friends living at a distance. But in present time, telephone and mobile phones have somewhat faded the need to write letters as it is easier to just make a phone call. talking via phone replaced letter and writing. In conclusion, it will be safe to say that people who lack in reading and writing skills are at distinct disadvantage in education and jobs sector.