Is social media harmful or useful for young people? Explain your opinion. Use reasons and examples.

Social media is almost an everyday must’ve in today’s world. It has dominated the world to such an extent that living without it has become impossible. Social media, where most people admire it as a revolutionary invention, some people seems to take it as a negative energy on the society. Firstly, unlike any other invention on this planet over usage of anything may have extreme side effects both physically and mentally. Mostly used by teenagers and young adults, social media isn’t left out from the squad. It has become an unsafe, addictive and negative tool. Speaking to strangers, cybercrime and bullying have peaked up since the invention of social media. Platforms such as Instagram and Facebook contributed in peaking up the suicide rates due to harassment. In contrast, I believe that social media has paved a way to endless opportunities, it has created jobs like digital marketing, social media marketing, making business easier. Additionally, social media is a real power in today’s world, giving voice to millions of people around the world who’ve used this platform to make some revolutionary changes. It’s a cheaper and an easier version of staying up-to date on a regular basis, there’s an update every minute, all you need to do is login and you have the worst news of the day in the blink of an eye. All in all, social media is a very powerful weapon. It can transform a person’s life within minutes to something extremely good, making you immensely popular and can also make you devil forcing you to take drastic steps like suicide.