Is punishment necessary for children?

It is since childhood that our educator, teachers, guardians and other elders around us that we learn to distinguish between right and wrong by various ways including punishment. While it is necessary to let the young ones know that there can be adverse effects if they do something wrong, I do not completely agree with the method of punishment. To commence with, disciplining the children at the right age is imperative to instill in them the vision to identify right and wrong, however, it is not a task that can always be dealt with punishment as it can sometimes reflect anger and impatience. Moreover, penalizing the child might at times impede the child´s ability to decide what is right and what not on his own. It is also possible that there is a strain in the relationship between the parents and children when children are punished harshly for their behavior. This is all the more reason to not always resort to punishments and penalties to bring the child on the right path. On one hand, it is important to be assertive while parenting and as teachers, however, it is equally important to solve a couple of situations with empathy. This can only be done when the elders get to know the real reason behind certain acts of the children. Therefore a combination of disciplining techniques and understanding should be used to train children so that they behave righteously. Instead of physically hurting the child and hitting or shouting at him or her, he or she should be asked to perhaps assist in household chores or office-related work depending on whether he or she is at home or in school. Depriving the children of their favorite games or food can be another way to tackle bad behavior. To sum it up, taking care of a child is certainly not a child´s play. Each parent and teacher is aware of the caliber of their children, therefore they should not be pushed too hard in just one direction merely for the sake of making them do everything right. Childhood deserves to stay childhood therefore a couple of notorious acts here and there will not harm anyone. Not every wrongdoing deserves a punishment. Sometimes, all it needs is a listening ear and a helping hand.