is learning english more important than local languanges? give your opinion.

It is believed by many that learning English at school is much relevant than teaching the local languages. In my own opinion, English should be rightfully introduced to students as well as its local language. English is known to be the international language. People of different races and places understand each other using it as the standard language to communicate. It is a language that is known worldwide for educational, social, political and economic purposes. Introducing English to students at school will help them to become internationally competent that could help them develop a stable career in the future. On the other hand, our local language must not be forgotten. It is the language that represents our origin and culture. Although English is widely used nowadays, some people especially in rural areas are not adequately literate about it. Local languages will help us communicate with our fellow countrymen and it will help in enriching our culture and tradition. Ensuring the survival of local languages is vital and we can do this through the help of our family. Usage of local languages should be encouraged in any family gatherings and occasions. In addition, schools should also offer subjects that use the local language in teaching. For example, in the Philippines, the school curriculum includes Filipino subjects wherein teachers educate their students about their native language. In my conclusion, both English and local languages are important and must be taught in school. English helps students to be internationally competent while our local languages aides in our daily communications to our family and countrymen.