Is learning by heart an old fashioned way of learning?

I disagree with the idea that learning by heart, which may mean to learn something so deeply that it affects us on a personal level or to learn with personalizing the effect of learning produced, can ever fall out of the practical domain. Although it is important to implement the memorizing techniques and to get actively engaged in the process of learning using route learning, learners need to form a connection with the materials they are studying since our brain learns faster through the process of assimilation. The main reason that obliges me to state my disagreement is the assimilation process which can be described as a process in which the brain integrates the newly-learned materials with the preexisting cognitive structures. In simpler terms, this neural function is called personalization. It has been long proven that personalizing the materials we are learning is more effective than non-familiarized information when we want to memorize something, in fact, learning by heart— also known as deeply personalized learning— can be more practical for teachers since all children, no matter what learning style they have adopted, learn through accommodating and assimilating(personalizing) new schema. Schema is the categorized mental information which one associates with environmental cues. The more association one makes the more pathways are generated in the brain, and, in a likewise manner, the easier and moreconvenient it gets to memorize something. In conclusion, I disagree with this exclamation that learning by heart no longer occupies a special place in our educational system because studies have indicated that stamping our learning route with the personal information that associates the material being learnt with ourselves and our external reality can be a formidable technique for learning.