Is it fair that some successful sports professionals earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions? What is your opinion?

It is widely accepted that when sports professionals play a game, it is a job (vocation) for which they have to be paid (receive remuneration). In this essay, I will look at the lifespan, training needed, and importance of their professions. First, in defending their large salaries, sportsmen and women argue that the time in which they are physically able to play is relatively short. They too have financial needs and often have families to tend to. Therefore they have to make (generate) as much money as possible in order to ensure a secure future when retiring. Those against these high salaries argue that other professionals run the same risks. A surgeon, for example, could contract arthritis and not be able to perform complicated operations any longer. Second, those opposed to these salaries argue that other professionals have studied for many years at a high cost to obtain their qualifications. Sportsmen and women, on the other hand, say (contend) that they not only have a specific talent but also have to train for long hours and in fact have to keep on training to stay competitive. Lastly, it is said that the sports person’s job is not as important as those of other professionals, like doctors, engineers, scientists, and so on. Sports people disagree and say that they provide a necessary service to the community when they help (assist) people relax. After looking at the time they can play, the amount of training they have to undergo, and the service they provide to their fans (supporters), I would conclude that their salaries are justified.