Plagiarism in academics has become a pressing problem in many countries today.

In this contemporary era, a major issue that swarm of educational institutions face all over the world is plagiarism. This essay examines various causes of the phenomenon and suggests some solutions to reduce the effect of the menace. The first and foremost reason for this behavior is the increasing competition between pupils to get greater opportunities and to qualify for perspective jobs. That is why today most of the students desire to have better marks, the hence they try plenty of methods in order to get what they want. One of these ways is mere copying other`s written works mostly on the Internet, sometimes through newspapers and from other accessible sources of information, oft without the authors` permission. For example, when government and ministry of Education in Kazakhstan changed the assessment system and created definite structure of final exams at schools, plagiarism has been dramatically expanding, due to published questions and answers for the tests. Many disciples` works have been published, subsequently a great deal of learners replicated the materials. The second convincing reason I would like to mention is that in some countries, plagiary is not considered as an offence or treated extremely lightly. For instance, for individuals in Vietnam it is commonplace practice to not only copy someone`s paper, but to print entire book. In schools, many students are instructed to memorize and reproduce the works of others and prohibited from coming up with their own ideas. Altogether, this kind of theft is socio-culturally permitted. Countries around the world all have distinct standards based on their history, culture, and legal bases. In conclusion, there is no doubt that piracy in academics is becoming a pivotal problem in many regions around the world, the conclusion is that academics should prevent students by referring exact text books and to implement sort of punishments from decreasing marks to excluding from the universities.